The American and California Dental Associations (ADA and CDA) recognize these eight types of dental specialists:

Deals with the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease and injuries of the internal soft tissue of the tooth (root canals).

Oral And Maxillofacial Surgeon
Treats injuries and deformities, extracts teeth and performs surgery of the mouth, jaw and face.

Prescribes and places corrective devices, such as braces, to align teeth and improve health and appearance.

Pediatric Dentist
Specializes in the dental health of children from birth to adolescence.

Treats diseases of the gums.

Designs and fits bridge-work and dentures.

Public Health Specialist
Coordinates and administers community-wide dental care programs, including public education on the prevention of dental disease.

Oral Pathologist
Researches the causes, development and effects of oral diseases.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *